Disc read error

dick_dastardly

Established member
Heeeeeeeeelp! :(

When I try to boot up my PC it generates the error message :-

" A disc read error occurred. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart ".

The same thing happens when I restart it.

I'm no IT expert but this sounds like major surgery to me.

Anyone got an idea what the problem could be ?

dd

Try doing a web search using that sentence (or modifications of it), you should be able to find a solution like that.

That is how I found out how to use a old ISA card that wasn't compatible with Win2000 and didn't have any drivers available cos it wasn't supported any more... but I found out how to get it to work when it shouldn't have done at all!

Last edited:
I would try resetting the BIOS to the default settings (press delete or F2 as the PC starts to boot to go into "setup".).

Make a note of all the values in the BIOS so that you can change them back if nessercary.

One of the options at the bottom should be to load the default settings. Choose this, save and restart and see if that helps.

If you have an emergency boot disk somewhere, then try booting off it, then at the command prompt type in CHKDSK C: /R
This should initiate a scan of your hard disk for errors. It's not necessarily going to be a major problem.

Racer

Seems that everyone who has had this problem in the past ended up reinstalling windows which I don't really want to do. However this might be a good idea as I forgot to switch off Norton AV when I installed SP2 and it's never been quite right since.

Trader333

Booting up, removing a disc from drive A and then rebooting is a daily ritual for me, so I know it's not that.

Rossored

The current settings in BIOS are the same as the previous ones and I can't see an option for loading the default settings.

Volatile

Tearing the house apart now looking for these discs.

dd

What make of hard drive is it?

Most (all) HDD manufacturers will have a speficic error-checking tool for their disks.