Difference between Spread betting and CFDs

small_bites

5 1
I understand SB is being marketed as tax-free opposed to CFDs, but is that the only difference?

I'm a novice and looking to have a punt at day trading and want to understand the SB/CFD difference before looking for a suitable broker.

small_bites

5 1
thank you tomorton :)

It seems a number of brokers don't mention spread betting as being part and parcel with their brokerage services. I've only come across a handful of SB affirmatives but so far user reviews have been extremely discouraging (at the moment a little warm with CMC). A bunch of the ones I've observed only offer CFDs. Does a CFD confirmed broker offer both SB and CFDs account options by default?... or is SB a unique addition with individual account privileges? If the latter, is there a list of "SB account" brokers I can check with options to further refine the search per requirement?

I was meaning to start a new thread titled "help with choosing a broker" but want to research a little more so I can ask all the right questions before disturbing the TW2 resident experts/experienced traders :)

tomorton

Legendary member
8,197 1,253
According to the European regulator, ESMA, SB is a type of CFD, so they are both subject to the same regulations on margin etc.. But in the UK SB and CFD are treated differently by the tax man. Firms can choose if they wish to provide both types of account but they are so similar it makes sense that they mostly do. It won't affect your SB experience as a client if the firm offers CFD accounts as well.

10pips

742 38
Not sure how much of this is true.
SB is tax-free, any large winnings, you wont be able to use this money to buy assets such as house etc.

BigDeal

49 26
SB is tax-free, any large winnings, you wont be able to use this money to buy assets such as house etc.