Chart Setting for FTSE Daily Rolling charts

broxieman

I am fairly new to Day Trading the FTSE 100. I bought a system, which provides a daily wrap-up e-mail. The good parts of the system promo were shattered by the actual results the guy who sells the system gets on his trades. OK, he's honest about his gains/losses, but I didn't buy honesty. Anyhoo, moving on............

I am using Capital Spreads. I use their FTSE Daily Rolling chart. I have the candles set at 5 minutes and the MACD at 12-26-5. No other settings are suggested by the system guy. His point is that as soon as the histograms cross over (red-to-green or vice versa) then take the trade if the MACD is >.09 and if the candle above is the same colour of the switch. All fine and good. He aims at Profit of 12 points with a stop of -15 points.
His (and mine) results have been poor. So, I have tried to tinker with the MACD levels to have a concurrent chart of MACD 26-12-15 - this sometimes helps to confirm, or not confirm, the colour switch. I have also waited for the ensuing candle of the (new) switch to see if the momentum is real. I have also used No Stop and no Profit Level, and therefore sit and watch the chart, then either take a small (usually) profit on a Manual Close or sweat it out until I've had enough of a move away from me, so take the loss.

Clearly, I'm not developing a reliable strategy (either his or mine), although obviously I don't expect to get every one right (and I can only trade in the 0930-12.30 time zone, London time).

So, I am looking for comments or advice to be able to get a better handle on the market movement/momentums. The green-red switches are "trailing indicators" at best, and while a crystal ball would be useful, I don't reckon I'll get one.....so does anyone know of data/information/signals, whatever that I can get online, real-time to help me better read the signals on the FTSE. (I have also tried this guy's system on USD/JPY ; EUR/USD - to no better effect !!!!)
Thanks