CFD Market Makers vs. Providers

dmorris

Hi all,

I'm just getting started and I'm unsure whether to go for SBs or CFDs. I plan to deal in UK stocks.

From what I can see so far, though, I like the idea of trading at the "true" market price of a stock. I don't like the idea of a SB broker spreading the price to account for 3M interest, etc.

So, could anybody tell me which brokers are providers of CFDs (and so use the market-price) as opposed to "market-makers" (and so use a spread)?

Or have I understood this incorrectly?

My front-runner is currently IGMarkets; they have have good coverage of UK stocks (~900 stocks, >£10m marcap.) Although really, I want maximum possible coverage on UK stocks, so if there's any better broker in that respect, I'd love to know.

What I don't yet understand is if their CFD quoted prices will be the same as the live market price... I'm keen to avoid any problems with brokers altering their spreads while my positions are open.

Thanks,
D.

GNI is the best as far I am concerned for CFDs but not for beginners, you are not given a different or delayed price.
You only pay interest for longs (unless special borrow)
Excellent support

I would suggest you look at the numerous threads on T2W re CFDs and spreadbetting

Last edited:
SB seems to be a good place for starting out trading (Capital Spreads in my opinion are the best of the bunch) and having a look at the different vechicles that one can trade. Don't waste your time on CFDs. They look attractive because of the leverage but the reality is grim. "Cash prices" suddenly seem to disappear when you most need them and the finance charges are lethal. A few posts on the elitetrader site echo my sentiments
http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=725765&highlight=CFDs#post725765
If you haven't got the funds to day trade US then perhaps have a look at FOREX. There are lots of good pointers on this site. Good luck!

Hi DMorris