becoming a global macro player

John_Galt

Quick background:
Got back from gap year last year. Decided to defer college so I could concentrate on my trading and try make it on my own. I've been swing trading for 3 years and at the moment looking into scalping fixed income derivatives (primarily schatz, bobl and bund). I will be simulating for a few months then moving live. I love fast paced technical action but also macro analysis and economics.

I've had interviews this year at a private equity firm and a prop desk in another city, but failed to get in. Feedback was along the lines of 'maturity' (I just turned 20) and 'qualifications' (I've only attained a diploma since school). Otherwise I would apparently be a "very strong candidate"...
So now I've decided to enroll into college (Bachelor of Economics / or Bachelor of Commerce)

Where I want to go:
I'm young and like to trade fast. But later I would love to utilize macro-analysis. I see myself taking macro bets at a much older age when I'm wiser, more patient, and no longer a fast-paced tape addict.

So do I go the IB route after college (I have the marks to enter the necessary college) and work my way up the corporate ladder for 6 years :)sleeping:) before getting to a prop desk:cheesy:?
Or do I join a local/overseas prop firm and/or later join a smaller hedge fund working with macro?

I have read Paul Tudor started in the pit playing the small moves and later began integrating his macro analysis into the trades (and extending their time-frame of coarse). This idea of working your way up through styles really appeals to me but I'm not sure if it still holds true today.

What are members thoughts on these two routes (IB vs prop/small hedge fund)?
What should I be aiming to do NOW if I want to be a BIG global macro player in the long-term?

Last edited: