API programming

wasp

Legendary member
Hi all,

Can anyone recommend a good place to start learning how to program an API (specifically with Oanda). I know absolutely zero about programming and to be perfectly honest, do not have a clue where to start. :confused:

The options, as far as I can see, are

Java
C++
VB.NET

All these are foreign to me and although I'm quite willing, have no clue as to where to start.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated!

Chris

Chris

If you go down this road then be aware that it's not necessarily a quick and easy process, and you'll need a good deal of time and patience, but at least you have a motivation to actually do it ie to write code to interact with Oanda's API.

What I usually look for is example code, provided by your broker of choice, in this case Oanda (obviously their API fees don't worry you), and see which languages these are written in. I am a VB programmer, which is probably somewhat faster and easier to get to grips with then the other two, in the initial stages at least, but it does tend to limit my choice of brokers a little. I am with IB so it's not so much of a problem, but many other brokers don't provide worked examples in VB. Oanda have all 3 so no problem here, but if you should want to move broker then it may become an issue, as in any case you will have to re-write all your code.

Java and C++/C# are more commonly used (than VB) in the banking/hedge fund world, so if you have any ambitions in this direction, then that may be a consideration.