Annual returns

njm42

Hello everybody,

What levels of annual returns do you expect if trading full time?

I have been trading a small forex account for around 18 months and gained around 75% in the first year and on the way for similar this year, this is with minimal drawdowns.

This is trading part time and risking a maximum of 1%/trade, most often less.

Based on these figures, would it be realistic to achieve say 100% year on year if trading full time? Is this realistic based on other people's experience?

Thanks a lot,

Nick

Is 75% return calculated on top of your initial capital? If yes, then how much leverage did you use?

Yes, - i.e. If on 01/01/07 I started with £10,000, on 01/01/08 I had £17,500.

I use 100:1 leverage, however I still risk max 1% of MY capital (in the above example = £100) per trade. By using the leverage I was able to put eg 50% in one year bonds, 30% in savings account and 20% to use as margin requirments.

Hello everybody,

Impossible question to answer. To many Variables to consider, because trading is a personal art (not science) and each individual has different goals in their trading. Some want to be huge Hedge fund managers, some just want to pay the bills. each to their own and Hopefully all are profitable.

Impossible question to answer. To many Variables to consider, because trading is a personal art (not science) and each individual has different goals in their trading. Some want to be huge Hedge fund managers, some just want to pay the bills. each to their own and Hopefully all are profitable.

Thank you Lucky.

I know that it is difficult to set an overarching level applicable fr everyone, but I was wondering whether other people's experiences trading full time were roughly in line with my records to date, or whether I was being overly optimistic/pessimistic.

Seems that you hate risk very much. Only 1 bp stop loss on the notional?