Am I overlooking the risk?

trader0303

I've been doing a very simple options strategy for a few months and have had success, and it seems too "low risk" that I must be overlooking something.

I sell a call above the stock price, and sell a put below stock price betting that the stock will stay in the range, and both will expire worthless.

I manage it by if the stock reaches my call price I buy the stock, and sell it if it goes back into my "range" . Inversely if it falls to my put price I short the stock, and cover my short when it rises back above my put price.

So, even if it goes out of my range, my risk is covered. I do this when I have the cash in the account to cover buying or shorting the stock to manage position. What am I missing besides overnight gaps?

What if it gaps outside the range, and you can't buy at the end of the range? This could be very costly.

What if it hits the range and you buy, then it comes back down and you sell, then it hits the range again and you buy, then it comes down again....

What edge do you think is there in what you do?

What if it gaps outside the range, and you can't buy at the end of the range? This could be very costly.

What if it hits the range and you buy, then it comes back down and you sell, then it hits the range again and you buy, then it comes down again....

What edge do you think is there in what you do?

Well the edge is that I hope I'm picking a range with some very strong support and resistance, and picking a stock that seems to be ranging.

I get a "buffer" for my trading losses in the scenario you speak of where it repeatedly enters and exits the range by the premium I collect from selling the options.

Also, holding any equity overnight exposes you to the risk you mention. Do you never hold an equity overnight without a protective option?

Last edited: