Advice please!

boxersam123

Hey,

As you know I am new to Trading.

I am from a totally different field (construction), I know very little about stock trading,trading,sb,etc.

I am attending my 1st sb seminar this week.

I am 31 and I have decided this is going to me my next career move.

I have money to invest, so I thought sb, just to get the hang of it.

My questions are.

How long will it take me to understand the markets/jargan?
Is there a course I could take?
Is it possible to start now at my age?
Is SB the best way to start?

Thanks for your time.

If you're wishing to be a freelance trader from home, age and lack of experience are no deterrent. However, Return = Capital x Time x Risk. If you want big Return in short Time, and you don't have big Capital, you would have to take big Risk. The usual result of this is to get wiped out: getting wiped out is the only way to lose the game, there are a hundred ways to win, but you have to stay alive long enough to find one that works for you personally.

My advice would be start with very very small positions - learn, test, refine and try again. Aim only at not losing big each trade. Only when you are a consistent winner, increase your position size.

In answer to your specific questions:

The mechanics will come to anyone in a year or two, an intuitive feel for market behaviour could take many years beyond that

Yes, but most of them are a less valid education than actually trading

Age is no barrier if you're not looking for salaried employment

SB is a good place to learn the mechanics, but don't confuse its ease of execution with ease of making a profit: its very useful for learning the mechanics at very low cost, and how to make a profit in a falling market.

And not to sound unduly pessimistic, but realistically, one has about as much chance of becoming a millionaire at this game as by going into acting. It happens but there are more starving actors out there than actor millionaires.