A Missing Piece - Macrowaves

AdamTheAnalyst

Hi there,

I'm a bit of a lurker on these boards, i'm a newbie still doing a hell of a lot of research whilst i'm demo trading and just want to chuck this into the pot in case it helps someone as much as it has helped me.

My reading list so far has been extensive, covering large sections of the Bonds, Equities and Currency markets but after a few years of studying a lot was still missing and my demo trades were still losing money.

One thing that never clicked to me is why all the things i were reading relied on either a very technical approached, ie scalping and TA analysis or on the opposite end of the spectrum, the buffet style of investing by valuing a companies stock from its financial data, after all this i was still getting beaten up on my trades. But if you watch any program about trading desks, trading floors, hedge funds etc, they all have really really heavily news based trading approaches (if you don't believe me watch something like "Million Dollar Traders" and see how they are taught to trade the markets or chat to someone that works on a desk if your lucky enough).

I was lucky enough to chat to a desk manager for an investment bank who traded in the early 2000's and he said something along the lines of "trading is 10% technical analysis, 30% fundamental analysis and 60% market correlation" (correlation probably isn't the exact word he used but he meant how markets are linked together and move in patterns with one an other). But no book i had ever read mentioned this.