why don't you stick to your plan?

tape reader

Okay, this is not for traders using an automatic entry/exit system.

Jesse Livermore said the reason most traders fail is because they're trading without a plan.
Being a discretionary trader I am trading my plan (meaning "I have one").
However being only human I ain't perfect either.

So my question to you is what are the reasons you are not sticking to your own trading plan ("breaking the rule")?
And do you profit or suffer from your misbehavior?
Or are you a trader who rarely makes any mistakes?

As for me, fatigue and stress are the reasons why I simply forget about my trading plan.
I especially lined out in my plan what not to do during trading.
The bad thing is when the trade turns out with a profit, it reinforces my bad behavior.
It's also that fatigue and stress promote the feelings of fear and hope.
The fear to open a position when my entry-signal comes.
And the hope of my position to turn around into a winner after not honoring my stop-loss signal.

Fatigue is my explanation for not following my plan.

Wanna share? :)

There are several reasons for not honouring your original plan. One is good the other is bad.

A 'good' way i break my own rules is when i see conditions which signal to me that my take profit levels are no longer viable and i should cut the trade where it is at, profit or loss. This can be any number of factors, including news events, trades that have been hanging for a long time tying up capital and going nowhere, etc.

I also break rules in a 'bad' way on occasion. Sometimes i think i'm doing it in a good way as detailed above but then realise afterwards i was actually acting out of emotion and a lack of discipline/patience. There is a thin line between the good and the bad rule breaking :).