What should I trade?

mpengland

Hi All,

I've been studying TA for four years now and it's about time I thought about actually trading. (My approach to TA is a very simple one, I like low volume pullbacks in strong trends and I don't mind if I have to wait for days until I see a scenario that I like).

I am finally happy with my system (if you can call it that) and now I have to make a decision about what to trade. This might sound like a daft question but I have studied charts of everything I could find, stocks, bonds, currencies, futures, commodities, whatever, and now that I feel ready to try trading I have no idea which instrument to actually trade. I guess I'm a cross that bridge when I come to it type of person.

Anyway, my question is this, what in your opinion would be the best/cheapest instrument to cut your teeth on?

Many thanks

Mike

What time of the day do you have access to the markets? - If you have time constraints (such as a 'real' job) that should start to narrow your choices down.

Then:

What time frame are you looking to trade over? (scalp, intraday, swing, position, EOD)

How much cash have you available to trade with? (Initial margin requirements and what you are prepared to risk may also limit your markets)

>> What time of the day do you have access to the markets? - If you have time constraints (such as a 'real' job) that should start to narrow your choices down.

Afternoons are generally free

>> What time frame are you looking to trade over? (scalp, intraday, swing, position, EOD)

Mostly intraday but I would like to trade EOD trends as well.

>> How much cash have you available to trade with? (Initial margin requirements and what you are prepared to risk may also limit your markets)

Not much. The cheapest quality approach is the one I need to find.

thanks

mike

Mpengland.
Seeing as it's your second post. I'll say welcome to T2W, Though I don't know how long you have been on here.
You've been studying T.A. for four years?