Using my system with spread betting

bikhod

Hi

I am a swing trader in the cash market and the essence of my system is to go long when there is a pull back to the EMA8 (as long as EMA8 > EMA21 + other factors) [reverse rules for shorting). This system has worked nicely for me in US, which is where I trade.

I want to try spread betting, mainly for the tax reasons. Being new to spread betting, I am not sure whether my system will work as well as the prices are different and there is no volume data (something on rely on very heavily).

I'd appreciate any advice from spread betting gurus!

Thanks
Bikhod

Hi bikhod,

I would say that you should exercise some caution if you've been used to dealing in the cash market and are now considering spread betting.

With spread betting, you are going to find potentially wider spreads and price spikes which you won't be seeing in your current cash trading. I am not trying to negative about spread betting, but you could find that your tax advantage is cancelled out by the disadvantages of trading with a spread betting company.

Remember that when spread betting you are not trading the true market like you have been used to - you will be trading a derivative of the underlying market.

Thanks

Damian

Hi Damian

Thanks for your reply.

Your comments are reflect what is going through my mind. As they say, when something appears to be too good (i.e. no tax) then it probably has a catch.

I actually doing 90% of my trading in the US using optionsXpress and Etrade and I am used to very tight spreads etc.

I can't quite put my finger on why something keep telling me give spread betting a miss - even though it just seems so attractive!

Damian

Forgot - what is the closest to spread betting in the US? Is it trading futures / eminis?

Regards
Bikhod

Hi bikhod,

Personally, I would never trade anything else other than the actual market. I like to be able to trade exactly what I see and not someone else's version of it.