To spread or not to spread?

fhb22266

I read, with interest, Grey's post on the 'Trading the DOW for profit' suggesting that Spread Betting firms should all be outlawed due to their 'manipulation' of the prices and excessive spreads particularly on the cash indices. I am very new to trading and have been finding it difficult to make profits on the daily DOW because of the spread. In fact a few times I set my stop at what I thought was a reasonable margin only to find that my position was closed even though the real price was still a few points away. Now I only bet using the 'market prices' not the SB firms but that costs an extra couple of points too.

So my question is, are there any people out there who use SB firms for real trading? Should I really be looking at direct access and what is that likely to cost to get into? I don't have much in the way of spare funds to play with so SB firms suit my level of investment. What's the main differences between SB firms and direct access?

:confused:

The main difference between SB and direct access is that the SB firms allow you to 'bet' on futuer movements in price. You do not buy or sell short anything, you simply make a deal with the SB company. This is why they (often wrongly) get blamed for manipulating the price. With direct access all the broker does for you is allow you access to the markets on which the actual contracts, shares or whatever are traded, therefore you get the actual price of the contract at the actual spread, and you pay commission to be able to do this.

Which would be best for you depends on your capitalisation and what type of trading you are involved in. If you day trade, then maybe direct access would be better as the spreads from SB companies are often too large for the day trader, if you are swing or long term trading, then the difference is minimal. I use SB companies because the commission is in the spread so it's easier to calculate.