Tips on how to refine my system

Mr Valand

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie trader and have just started trading virtually with a demo account from capital spreads to test out my system.

These are the basics of my rule:

1) Market conditions must correlate with target stock (if I am looking to go short on HSBC, banking sector must be in a downtrend and so must FTSE 100)

2) Fundamentals/News must correlate with direction of trade (I won’t go long on a company who just announced a fall in profits etc. Fundamentals will be used for stock selection only and not influence trading decisions.)

3) Chart reading – Trending or about to breakout. Pattern reading, bar analysis. A break of support or resistance

4) Price action makes higher highs or lows after breakout

5) 5 day MA crosses 20 day MA.

6) Volume supports a breakout or reversal.

7) RSI is signalling overbought or oversold

8) ATR is low/predictable

9) Enter trade the next day when market opens only when price is above or below todays close (depending on direction of trade).

Now the main issue I have seen so far is my system is really slow at picking up trends and the main culprit is the MA crossover. Everything says buy, all systems are go, but I am sitting waiting for the crossover which only comes once the trend has already matured. Whats has really frustrated me in recent days is my rule has signaled buy (apart from the MA crossover) and then the next day news has come out and the stock has risen sharply. 2 examples would be ITV and LLOYDS, both of which I did not enter as I was waiting for the crossover.

I've tried using 5/10, but then this just seems to quick at times. I know this is a common problem when using MA's so if anyone has advice on how to tighten things up or who uses MA's successfully please share. Or maybe I should stop using MA's altogether?

Thanks,

Bhavin