This is my truth, tell me yours ...

LoneWolf

Good Evening,

Firstly, my background. I'm a downwardly mobile manager in a software company. I've just moved to a 3 day week in an attempt to adjust my work/fun balance, so I have some time to explore other possibilities.

I'm not looking at this as a major revenue earner, but if goes well who knows.

I'm in the process of opening an account with finspreads, I like their small stakes, and I'm just playing with £200 initially (last of the big spenders :cheesy:).

From my initial research, I have come to following conclusions:

a) I'll always have a stop loss in position to cover any negative movements. I'd like this to be a trailing stop loss, probably will require my intervention throughout the trade to adjust the stop loss. (not too controversial)
b) It's safer to short a stock, as the market is more likely to dramatically dump a stock, than shoot it through the roof. Following on from that, investor psychology leads me to believe that if a stock does rocket, that investors are more likely to take a profit, whereas in a crash a lot will sit tight in a paralysis. (Maybe this only applies to private investors rather than institutions, and as such doesn't hold true as the private investors are small beer compared to the institutions?). That said, with my stop loss in place I should automatically remove this concern.
c) For initial stock selection, screen on volativity, then analyse the charts and look for strong trending behaviour, either positive or negative. I'd rule out any stocks below a certain volume (not sure what that value is, but I want reasonable volume levels?)