Stop-Loss strategy when in profit?

MuniMaker

Hi,

My first post here so please be gentle :). I'm fairly new to spreadbetting, having recently chosen it as a tax-free method of supplementing my regular shares investments.

So far, I've been extremely lucky in that three or four of my chosen investments (i.e. bets) have delivered a fantastic profit (like £6.5K in total for an initial £2K risk). I'd really like some advice/ideas now on what is the best way to use stop losses to protect my profits.

The shares in question are high-risk AIM shares and the bets are all quarterly futures. Recent and impending news and ongoing/imminent activities have given the share prices a huge boost but there is potential for much much more with expected volatility. I don't want to miss out on this, but as nothing is ever guaranteed, I want to make sure I don't lose the majority of the profit if things turn sour.

The main question in my mind is whether to set really tight stop losses on the premise that if the prices do go down I'll probably be able to get back in lower at some point, or whether to leave the stops fairly wide and ride the storms (I've already moved them past the entry point to reduce risk to capital). Or perhaps there is some other strategy I should consider as well?

TIA for any advice/tips on the best way to manage this fortunate position.

MuniMaker.

Difficult for me to offer a suggestion given I only trade forex were I use a (manual) trailing loss system based on the closing values of the previous 2 candles, I revert to a fixed stop and TP limit when asleep..the TP is generally 50, 70 or 100 pips..

This differs from trading shares as I'm generally only in trades for approx. a day/36 hours max and it's fast moving/liquid which isn't the same for your aim stocks - which have flattered to deceive over the past 12 months rise from the ashes...

Having said this why not base your stop on the previous candle values, or use fibs?

Hi,