Spread Betting Beginner Questions

Kate7777

Hi everyone,

I've been browing the forums for a while but have just signed up so I hope I'm posting in the right place :)

I've been looking into spread betting for a while (and trying to get my head around it) and have some initial questions I'd be grateful if anyone could answer or point me in the right direction.

I've heard of of people betting at 1p per point but all of the companies I've looked at offer a min. £1 per point (or 50p in some instances), does anyone know of a reputable company who offers 1p per point?

With regard to stop losses - if the spread is 6035-6037 and you place a stop loss at 5097 would that place any cap on your potential winnings or are you really allowed to cap your potential losses but not your potential winnings?

Do companies vary in the stop losses they will allow? As a new trader I would like to start with 1p per point and play with a stop loss but I'm not sure if the available stop losses (is min. stop loss a term?!) vary dramatically from company to company.

I'm aware that you can lose more than you're stake but if I sign up for a deposit only account will I be limited to only losing what is in my account (ie. if I have £50 in my account and try and place a bet with a stop loss that would risk losing £80 would it stop be placing the bet or would it let me place the bet and reduce my balance to -£30 if I went on to lose)?

Thanks for reading, appreciate any help or advice!

Hi everyone,

I've heard of of people betting at 1p per point but all of the companies I've looked at offer a min. £1 per point (or 50p in some instances), does anyone know of a reputable company who offers 1p per point?

!

There is no such thing as a reputable spread betting company. Some may rip you off less than others.

Had to read that a couple to make sense of it but if I've understood it correctly then I'm shocked, also naive obviously but still shocked lol