Risk Reward ratio for Spread betting

lightclark

Hi
I am new to spread betting, and i had been observing my trades for the past 2 weeks and i realised that my Risk Reward ratio doesn't hit 1:2 maybe not even 1:1.5 I am just wondering if the risk reward varies between longer term trading.
Because from looking at the trends, it seems to me that i have to buy at the peak and sell at the bottom to obtain a 1:2 risk reward ratio and also increase the time span, which increase the chance of having large waves which might wash the deposit away.
But doesn't hit the 1:2 ratio if i trade within short time span. :confused:
And from observing my trades i realised i dont know how to set profit targets, can anyone give me some advice on setting profit targets too?

I am fairly new to this, hope my questions aren't too dumb
Thanks
Clark

Agree with 6am. Don't get hung up on ideal pictures of what a great trade should look like. If you have a consistently applied and rational strategy which, rather than good luck or seat-of-the-pants flying, 1:1 r:r is OK: less than that may still work, but it saps the morale when you find you need two winners to make up for one loser.

Thanks very much for your replies, i was just thinking that my r:r was bad according to articles that i read. But i guess its not as bad as i thought now : )
The problem that i believe lies within my trades is that although i can manage to buy it when it is rock bottom, just like today in the Gold market manage to buy in at the double bottom but after i gain a bit i already sold it, do you guys have any advice on how do i know when do i sell it out?

Because today i bought in at 1326 then sold at 1329.5, then it reached 1344 in 2 hours. RSI and stochastics all of it already sayin over bought, so i sold but how should i decide to carry on holding it or not??

I trade repeating patterns that I know from past performance and back-testing usually travel so far. When they get there I get out. Don't trust indicators.