Really, really damn confused!

Pabmove

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, dipping my young toes into stock trading and learning for me is really fun. I'm going to rant for a while, probably because I want to speak from the top of my head about trading and see if I'm making sense. I do have genuine questions and they are right at the end. If anyone can help me understand a bit more about trading, I would really appreciate.

Right now, I think I will try it as a Daytrader and a Swing Trader as I find both have advantages and disadvantages. So far I have learnt the following:

I need to take an objective approach to my trades, of course I need to be discipline in making trades because it is my bread and butter, my business, so to speak.

Technical Analysis of a stock is an interesting process in determining trades (there's a real magic there, of course I know that it's all about the numbers and probability). So for any trades that I wish to do, I should do the following basic steps:

Look at market first and trade stocks second. If the market is down, trade shorts and vice versa.

• Look at MACD for trending markets.
  • Look at Scholastic Oscillator for trading ranges.
  • MACD - combination of 50 ema and 200 ema
  • Bollinger bands - use with RSI to determine overborught and oversold conditions.
  • Fibonacci Numbers - still trying to understand this one

Being objective:
1. I need to see if there is a trend
2. see if there is any momentum
3. Look at different time frames; tick, hour, week, month etc...
4. Recognize chart patterns
5. Trend lines
6. Candlesticks (this is complex :whistling; doji, stars etc...)
7. Look at support and resistance. For daytrading, mostly pivot points reasearch.
8. Cycles in the market and stock
9. What is relative strength? Still learning ...(y)

For daytrading:
Pivot points seem to work for most daytraders but I'm still learning about this indicator.