Problem with Yahoo LSE data?

ludo

Hi. I am new to t2w and this question may have been answered before long ago but I am wondering what is going on with the Yahoo LSE historical prices data. They don't seem to have been updated since the 20th (nearly a week ago now). Is this normal? for example http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=ABF.L

thanks

Yes this happens every now and then. I just noticed this at the weekend, I've tried all of the Yahoo servers and as you say, none of them have UK data after the 20th. Give it another couple of days and the data should magically appear.

For freebie EOD LSE I generally use MSN or eoddata.com now, although both of these also have problems with certain stocks I follow. The MSN data (actually supplied by Comstock) for UK stocks seems to be much better quality than Yahoo anyway.

All just part of the fun and games when you don't fork out for a proper datafeed :)

KenN

Thanks for the response :) I will try out the two that you have suggested. Do you think that it is worth purchasing the data even though it is available free from these sources? What do you do? Apart from the problem that has happened here with Yahoo are there any other reasons to pay for end of day data. Surely data is data? or am i missing something?

The problem with free UK stock data, and some paid data too, is that it is pretty variable. Look at the data on any given day on each of the usual sites - Yahoo (Reuters), FT/BigCharts (ComStock), Bloomberg - whatever. You frequently find discrepancies in the high/low or volume, and sometimes in the close too.

Today for instance, take AZN. The close/high is the same on all sites (!), but the low on Bloomberg/Reuters is 2167, on Comstock it's 2168. But the volume is 6,295,735 on Bloomberg, 6,159,594 on Reuters and 5,124,484 on Comstock.