pairs strategy

Hello folks, as my title suggests i am a rank novice doing the work required to get some ideas of whether trading and earning a little cash is for me. Looking into the CFD trading strategy I like the thought of pairing as it reduces (hopefully) the prospect of heavy losses. I was then wondering, (and if this has already been addressed please direct me to the thread) in a similar way to pairing, is it possible to have an account with 2 different brokers (or even 2 separate accounts with the same broker) and simultaneously place 2 orders, one going long, the other going short on the same stock/index/whatever and then close the order that is causing the losses?

Any thoughts, I'm sure other people must have considered this, and if it has been tried, has it been found to be effective. As a complete novice who has never placed an order yet please forgive me if this appears to be a stupid question, it is raised in genuine concern and a desire to be fully informed before throwing my money away.

Also if anyone has any good suggestions or couples regarding pairs trading please let me know of them
many many thanks, love the site

mark b

Hello folks, as my title suggests i am a rank novice doing the work required to get some ideas of whether trading and earning a little cash is for me. Looking into the CFD trading strategy I like the thought of pairing as it reduces (hopefully) the prospect of heavy losses. I was then wondering, (and if this has already been addressed please direct me to the thread) in a similar way to pairing, is it possible to have an account with 2 different brokers (or even 2 separate accounts with the same broker) and simultaneously place 2 orders, one going long, the other going short on the same stock/index/whatever and then close the order that is causing the losses?