On Balance Volume

stoploss please

Established member
Hi

Are there any threads on On Balance Volume and do any of you Traders use it. If soI would love to hear about your experiences.

Andy,

Good to see you back. Re: OBV... I haven't seen anybody on here using or discussing it. You interested in OBV in relation to futures, or just generally. FWIW, I think you'd be better off just looking at volume. The e-signal EFS2 standard library has a new custom volume study (not an indicator) that gives you views of volume across multiple timeframes. Might be worth you taking look at that if you haven't already.

Hi Sand,

How's it going m8.

Not posted for ages on these boards. Been a bit busy.

With respect to OBV, I have been experimenting with it for a few months. Very simply, I use it as a trend following tool.

In the indicator I look for HH/HL in the up trend and LH/LL in a down trend.

If the next move indicator loses momentum, I use it as heads up.

It probably sounds a bit simplistic but why complicate things.

Attachments

• ES 10min3.png
    ES 10min3.png
    74.3 KB · Views: 911
  • ES 10min4.png
    ES 10min4.png
    69.6 KB · Views: 1,291
The e-signal EFS2 standard library has a new custom volume study (not an indicator) that gives you views of volume across multiple timeframes. Might be worth you taking look at that if you haven't already.

Sandpiper, is that part of Advamce GET. Looking for it.

Andy,

No (not part of Advanced GET). Just under Formulas/EFS2/Custom/customVolume.efs. You also get the same multiple time frame capability for studies such as OBV. In other words, you could have a 10 minute OBV on a 1 minute chart.

Simplistic.. well, even if it was (and fwiw, I don't think it necessarily is) it doesn't matter as long as it suits you. In its favour, it would seem to highlight the majority of lower volume pull backs during trends and would also seem to highlight certain divergences.