Oil Macro Thoughts Anyone?

jimmieo

Newbie here.
I decided to regroup mentally today and try to write down some cogent thoughts on both sides . If anyone has further thoughts I'd like to hear them. BTW after running through this excercise I came to the conclusion that watching the price action from the sidelines is probably the safest idea given the state of the market. I would appreciate anyone's input or pointing out things I have missed. This was a hell of a move but where do folks think we go from here?

Bullish Crude
-Libyan deal appears to be a pipe dream (see nothing changed)

-NATO appears to be incoherent at the wheel of the "regime change mobile" ATM (see Sarkozy, Obama et al)

-Substantial unrest still exists:(see Yemen, Syria, Egypt,Bahrain, UAE)

-a pet name has been assigned to MENA mess (see The Arab Spring)

-The Saudi's don't appear to be big "Arab Spring" fans (see Tom Donilon trip to Riyadh today)

-Looking back to '08 there were several large pullbacks on the way up to the lofty heights

Bearish Crude
-Goldman announces they are selling their Easter baskets (no religious pun intended) and the futures markets puke as the elephant stomps the little guys to death

-Although Big Ben needs/wants inflation, he can't afford it to be the 'runaway train variety' therefore all govt mouthpieces are required to make bleating demand destruction noises (see IEA,IMF & other alphabet soup clubs)

-Consumer demand destruction is occurring (see mastercard or just hang out at a Costco gas line)

-Last week 80-year-old former Saudi oil minister, Shake Yermoney put out a $200 to $300 barrel price as a possibility in the context of something happening in
Saudi Arabia. (see RIP Billy Mays)

-Looking back to '08 the falling knife carved a huge hole in anyone that got under it

Ya I know it's lame but I'm replying to myself.

So what have we learned?

-Brent is driving the train
-Mena is still hosed