New to Forex - risk to reward

BarryP

Hi, I'm relatively new to Forex trading but reasonably up to speed with the various indicators, candlesticks, money management etc. Whats the concensus of opinion on risk to reward ratios. I've read that 3:1 is preferable. I had a relatively good week (385 pips - I think thats good?) making an average of 58 pips on winning trades and 30 on losing trades. 12 trades - 8 wins and 4 losses. I've read articles where a 1:1 risk reward is recommended - seems like flipping a coin to me. Psychologically, I find it hard to reject trades just on the lower risk to reward ratio. What do the more experienced traders do?

While I'm here - If you have an IG index spread betting account then you have access to Autochartist. Has anyone used this? If so comments please. I analysed 15 or so completed chart patterns and the majority of them reached their target - not scientific I know!

Hi, I'm relatively new to Forex trading but reasonably up to speed with the various indicators, candlesticks, money management etc. Whats the concensus of opinion on risk to reward ratios. I've read that 3:1 is preferable. I had a relatively good week (385 pips - I think thats good?) making an average of 58 pips on winning trades and 30 on losing trades. 12 trades - 8 wins and 4 losses. I've read articles where a 1:1 risk reward is recommended - seems like flipping a coin to me. Psychologically, I find it hard to reject trades just on the lower risk to reward ratio. What do the more experienced traders do?

While I'm here - If you have an IG index spread betting account then you have access to Autochartist. Has anyone used this? If so comments please. I analysed 15 or so completed chart patterns and the majority of them reached their target - not scientific I know!

If its not broke dont fix it. thats very good,why not join the live forex thread and call a few trades out. Id lone 385 pips this week