Managing my profitable position

nd713

Hello all I’ve been trading on and off for about 6 months. I haven’t had great success profit wise but believe that I am on the road to success thanks to hard lessons (unfortunately the learning curve does involve loosing:cry:) and immersing myself in heaps of fx material and general trading material (like to give thanks to trade2win and their members for the abundance of educational material and experience available). I’ve moved away from simply judging success by profits but instead have begun judging success according to my adherence to my trading plan and ability to with stand negative emotions (one of the worst enemies of all traders!!!!!!!). I’m at university in my 2nd year doing financial economics and I plan one day after graduation to be a great trader.

Anyways let me get to the question at hand. EUR/GBP being one of the majors I trade I chose to go long early in the week at 0.9000 trading with two mini lots and a 20 pip stop with my first target being 0.9040 and second 0.9070. First target was met so I closed 1 lot and moved my position 2 break even. I saw the position reverse to within 10 pips of my stop the next day but it shot back up to hit my second target of 70 pips. A good profit for a mini account that is £1200 in size. More so a success because I stuck to my guns and didn’t sell my whole position at my first target due to this niggling fear that short term bearish technical’s would prevent my 2nd target from being met.