Level 2 and Indices

DGC

Hi,

I’m relatively new to trading; I’d class myself as an apprentice at this stage. I’ve bought and sold shares conventionally in the past, but only really with long term investment in mind. A few months ago I opened a Finspreads spread betting account and have been trading the FTSE-100 rolling contract on and off ever since, making a bit and losing a bit; it’s all part of the learning curve. I’d appreciate any help or guidance from experienced traders on the following: -

Finspreads platform gives you a real-time chart so you can see which way the price is going, but you’re quite blind really, you have no idea of volume, waiting orders, etc. Would I benefit from having a level 2 access account when trading an index i.e. would I be able to see real-time volume and buy/sell waiting orders for the index as a whole or only the constituents. Another thought I had was that If I can only see single shares in level 2 could I glean the volume/price information for the index by watching an EFT for the index (iShares, for example)?

I’ve been looking at ‘Quotestream’ from Interactive Investor as it’s reasonably priced. Thoughts please?

Any help gratefully received.

Thanks,
DGC.

You can't trade an index, only a derivative of it whether that's a spreadbet bookmaker's price, or a future or an ETF, so there's no Level II information for an 'index', only for the traded derivatives. Personally I'd trade the future rather than the ETF, but both should work as long as they're sufficiently liquid. Plenty of people trade the QQQQ or other US index-tracking stocks, not sure how liquid the FTSE tracking ETF is though. Personally I'd trade the FTSE-future which is plenty liquid enough and has good market depth data available.

Thanks Jack O'Clubs, appreciate the help.

How would I find market depth for FTSE-futures. Are they in level 2? Is there a LSE symbol for them?