income problems

westham010

Hi there,

I am looking to slowly get into trading starting off first with reading the many posts on this forum, buying books and then getting a demo account with a major spread betting firm like cms or ib.

I fully understand that it is a real skill and takes years and years before you can even begin to see any kind of consistent income.

I am not going to ask the usual questions as this site almost certainly has the answers to them, and its simply just a question of spending more time searching.

The only thing I am worried about is this: At present I am a student which means I do not have an income. What I want to know is would I be able to start trading with real money or would I have to wait until I am in full time job earning a consistent income?

Thanks, I look forward to your advice,

Edmund:cheesy:

Depends on your own situation - if you have enough savings to live off, you might be ok to start trading real money (obviously after proving profitability demo trading). If you're trying to trade to make a living right from the start, it's likely that the pressure to perform well and pay the bills will be bad for your trading.

Forget about demo accounts. Use Fins or IG and trade real money but keep your stakes very small (these companies will let you do that) Stick to 1-2% risk per trade on your initial balance. Start with £10 and risk 10 - 20p per setup. Real money, however small, will teach you something about the emotional side of this business. Having said that, you probably won't be able to open an account if you don't have an income so you would probably need to say you have at least 10k of savings in order to qualify for one. Tom

I agree in part with both posts.

I think people underestimate the value of a demo account. Why risk real money when you have no idea how to trade let alone any vague semblance of a strategy? Worry about emotions later.