I need help getting better.

Micky89

I am really new to trading. I trade forex as I work full time and so have a bit of time after work to dedicate to trading.

I deposited £100 and obviously being an amateur I lost over 50% pretty quickly. After reading more and doing some research I managed to get back to to £30 in profit. I had one loss in 16 trades (probably why I ended up losing it all, I got too confident).

I'm trading micro lots (I think). The quantity I choose is '1'. As soon as I buy or sell it starts me at about -£1/-$1.50.

I feel as though I'm getting decent at choosing when to get into a trade but when it goes wrong I find it hard to cut my loss. I tend to wait for a U-turn, and sometimes it works and I close small in profit or evens. BUT when it doesn't turn I end up leaving it to run hoping that it will be ok.

Yesterday it wasn't ok. I exceeded maintenance margin and it closed in big loss.

I know I need to use stops properly. I need some simple pointers on where to use them. Also how much would I need in my account to be able to wait for the swing of the trend to be in loss but have enough in the bank to wait it out?

Now a little detail in my method so that you can tear it apart and help me build it up. I choose my entry based on slow stochastics, resistance and support prices, use larger time scales to check trend (I use 5m to find entry) and candlestick formation.

I find a currency pair with the price at a point of established resistance or support and I will only sell on an overall downtrend and buy on a overall uptrend. Once it's there I will check the stochastic to see if its deemed overbought/oversold. Once that's been confirmed I then wait for a candlestick formation that could signal a change in direction. That's when I jump in

In most of my trades I have the chance to close with a £1/£1.5 profit. Fairly often £2/5. Is that a good profit to take with buying one micro lot? When I have a loss though its large as I don't take a loss.