How To Read Market Cycles ???

not bright

Hi ,I am a novice at all this trying to get my head around the basiscs
I have been watching Raghee Horner and i am trying to learn how to read the market cycles
Mark Up,Mark Down, Accumulation and Distribution
My thinking is that whatever is on the chart should be giving me an idea of what is coming next.
But im confused by Accumulation and Distribution.
In my way of thinking Accumulation means to buy, to get hold of, to hoard.
So would this not drive the price up on a chart.
Raghee Horner says that accumulation is a flat 3'o clock reading a sideways movement.
As for Distribution that says to me that you are trying to get rid of, to sell so would that not drive the price down on a chart.
I could not figure out what distribution was supposed to look like on a chart the best i could come up with was a gentle sloping downward movement.
What is the difference between selling short and distribution
If huge amounts are sold short that would drive the price down right
If huge amounts are broken into smaller orders and sold off would that be distribution,so is distribution selling large amounts in smaller bundles .
If so what is the purpose of this.
Can anyone please explain or provide a link to good literature on this subject
Many Thanks
Not Bright

Hi ,I am a novice at all this trying to get my head around the basiscs
I have been watching Raghee Horner and i am trying to learn how to read the market cycles
Mark Up,Mark Down, Accumulation and Distribution
My thinking is that whatever is on the chart should be giving me an idea of what is coming next.
But im confused by Accumulation and Distribution.
In my way of thinking Accumulation means to buy, to get hold of, to hoard.
So would this not drive the price up on a chart.
Raghee Horner says that accumulation is a flat 3'o clock reading a sideways movement.