How to find equities

likefinewine

Been dabbling for about a year and have made money whilst the stock market has done well i have a million and one websites on my browser with all of thier recommendations but its all getting confusing and since i work full time don,t have time to check all of them out.
I need help i would like to get more involved and wondered how people choose a stock and where do they look for that info.
lets face it were all in this to make a little bit of money but there is so much ramping and de ramping goin on i don,t know where to turn.
Can anyone offer any advice

look at more suggestions that experts gave, search a good website to see the informations.

I always struggled with this. I couldn't understand how with millions of companies - how I could pick just a few to invest in. Similar to yourself I work (P/T) and I am a student (F/T) so I never had lots of time to be looking around.

What someone advised me to do was two things:-

1) Concentrate on Bluechip companies
or
2) Look at different sectors.

I took the second piece of advice.

I concentrated on a few different sectors (finance, oil, food & technology) To be honest, they were pretty random choices. I simply picked what I liked. I love technology, I like food and I work in a bank so I picked finance. From then on I just read the news surrounding these sectors and then selected different companies and did my research.

Now I'm not saying this is what everyone does - or what you should do - but maybe give it a try to help you narrow stocks down? I personally found it easier to look at companies when I was interested in the sector. Again, that isn't for everyone - but it made the reading more enjoyable for myself.