how many stocks/markets shall i focus on?

jonboy123

hi, im new to trading.
Ive been reading books etc and say if someone says "focus on a few markets". Start with small number of markets. Get to know them etc.

What does "markets" mean? In this instance....

- UK market?
- FTSE or AIM market?
- eg UK banks?
- British airways company= one market?
- Oil sector = one market?
- forex = one market......and Equities = another market ?
- stocks = one market..... options = one market.......?

One book says we should pick two or three dozen stocks and focus on them.
So say if you pick 20 diff companies.....does that mean 20 diff markets??

Should i focus on one sector? eg Oil.....and pick only companies from that sector?
So there would be numerous companies in ONE MARKET?

Ive also read that we should pick one or two hot industries currently. And then pick companies from there.

Say if im looking at UK equities.
Should i be looking at the Index in general first? eg FTSE Index charts? To see which group of companies, or sector is doing well? Does each sector have a genral Index where you can see if its doing well or not?

Thanks for any help.

For starters do you have any expertise in sectors that you know about? That would make trading shares easier as you could use your knowledge to your advantage.

Jumping on "hot" sectors is risky business and you shouldn't just buy shares in a company just because the sector is hot. You need more reasons than that. You can see how the sectors are performing too.

As far as markets, i'd consider markets to be the entity such as equities/FX/bonds/STIRS then you narrow it down. But when they say get to know your market they mean sticking to one or two fx pairs or only doing FTSE & Wall st, a few equities etc..

Last edited:
cheers.

so shares = one market?

No i have no expertise. But I have concentrated on UK stocks.
Im not saying i want to buy shares in hot companies. I merely researching.