How can you know?

kk_

I just started learning trading and I don't understand how traders can predict what will happen to the stock price because it depends on the psychology of the crowd or people with money. Could someone explain it to me?

I just started learning trading and I don't understand how traders can predict what will happen to the stock price because it depends on the psychology of the crowd or people with money. Could someone explain it to me?
Hi KK, its not crowd pyschology that moves the market, only the demand at any given price point, for any given asset
it doesnt matter whether they are all sociopaths, there simply needs to be more of the sociopaths buying at a price, or selling at a price to move it up or down.
and as for prediction. when we use technical or even fundamental analysis, any "prediction" is merely based on probability
if a moving average crosses above another one, there is only a higher probability or possibly a lower one, based on historical results. even if historical results show the probability is 100%, it doesnt mean it will remain at 100%. we can no more predict what will happen than know the minds of the participants of the market. we just need an edge, ie a positive expectancy, a higher probability that something may happen than not to make money

Reactions: kk_
I'd say it depends on the style of trading you choose. The shorter your time-frame, the more you want to just capitalize on other trader's emotions - the underlying business becomes much less relevant in that regard.

Momentum = Follow the fear (go short) or follow the greed (go long) as it is happening in real time.

Contrarian = Do the opposite of those fear/greed moves (betting on market over reactions to news/events - almost always at least a partial price recovery occurs shortly afterwards when calmer heads prevail).

Investing = Buy companies with good fundamentals/growing business (current price almost irrelevant), sell when they stop growing.

Reactions: kk_