help needed on commissions, limit orders and PDT rule plz???

sopodo

Hey Guys,

I hope this could be an on going thread where you experienced traders could help me a little bit a long the way. I am complete newb, well I have been practicing and researching on and off over the years but this week have really started to get deep into this.

So these last few days, I have been trading in penny, sub penny and super sub penny stocks on the OTC/BB markets using one of those free stock simulators. I have learned a great deal from the simulator as well as countless hours of reading a lot of information on technical analysis. Unfortunately I have not used that analysis yet in any of my trades.

I like day and swing trading.

I am currently following stock picks from those newsletters you hear about all the time these days. I really want to see what works and what's a load of BS when it comes to these picks. I have been pleasantly surprised. Some picks have been downright awful while a few making me a very nice profit.

Even though I been practicing with hot stock picks, still to me it's not real trading. You could make money in the stock market by following someone's lead through their market research but I would much rather prefer to find my own stocks through due diligence. Or buy one of these stock picks but know myself when to get in or out of a trade and how to carry the trade by myself instead of relying on others to make that decision. This should all come natural once I have thoroughly studied charting and other forms of analysis. The good thing is I'm a fast learner.

I have been getting use to limit orders and hear that market orders are not good for penny stocks as these stocks move quickly and are very volatile. So by the time a market order has been executed the stock may of dipped or spiked. So a limit order is preferable for both buying and selling.