Helenqu's Blog

Helenqu

Established member
A Funny Week

Had a few things against my trading this week. Kids at home Monday, Updata conference Tuesday, youngest son in hospital Wednesday and at home convalescing Thursday. Only managed about 5 hours screen time all week. Maybe just as well as it was PMT week!
Anyway, 9 trades. 6 winners, 3 losers. Average win 5.16, Average loss 4.33. I'm now up 5% on my account since I started trading. Which is OK for someone who is very much a part-timer I think. This time yesterday I was 6.6% up though. Had a really bad day today which did damage with two losing trades. But you have to accept losing days sometimes and I'm not going to bleat about it.

System Expectancy

Since I've now got a stable(ish) system for the STOXX I've worked out the expectancy over the 34 trades since I've been "settled" with it.(From Van Tharp pages 149-159).

It's 0.51 Euros per Euro risked so I think it's OK :) I know I need more data really but it's an indication anyway.

3rd November, 2002

Just occurred to me that it might also be useful to show the raw data on my "system" for those that haven't read Van Tharp and don't know what I mean by expectancy.

Winning trades

Points Number
1 4
2 6
3 1
4 2
5 4
6 1
7 2
8 2
9 1
12 1

24 winning trades out of 33 = 72.7%. Average win 4.33 points.

Losing trades (includes scratch as these lose commission)

Points Number
0 1
1 1
3 2
4 3
7 1
8 1

Losers 27.3%. Average loss 3.77 points.

After commission, average gain is E17.21 per trade.

What I need to work on now is stopping the big losses eg the 7 and 8 points and trying to up the winners a point or so. The 7 and 8 both occurred when I disobeyed my own rules and didn't put a trailing stop in. Maximum loss for both those would have been 5 as they were both +2 in profit at one point.

8th November, 2003