Hedging TSLA w dual options

Vara La Fey

Hey all. I'm a total noob to trading, but spent 7 years wholesaling local real estate (writing and selling purchase contracts). I pursued, and often devised, some pretty creative ways of finding distressed sellers. So now that I'm studying trading, I get ideas for Plays that I don't know how to begin actually executing - even tho I merely dry-run at this point. Here's just such a play idea:

Tesla is the talk of the town, and seems pretty volatile. I think TSLA will either go huge in the next few years, or leave a smoking crater. And to a lesser extent, I think they will do that at the Q3 reports, since Musk has more or less promised profitability, which would be a true milestone in the co's completely unprofitable history.

Ok. It seems to me that if Q3 shows profit, TSLA should jump. If Q3 makes a liar out of him, TSLA should fall. Nobody knows which will happen, least of all me. So my best (and only) guess is to hedge them using both calls and puts. (If there's a more elegant way, I don't yet know of it.) My plan is to calculate strike prices on the calls and on the puts so that whether TSLA shows a profit or not, the "winning" options will pay the premium costs for both options and make me profits on top of that. Because I expect significant change in share prices either way.

Yes, I understand that all my premiums are gone if the prices stay stable. But my bet is that they won't.

In the next couple months, I want to dry-run my "dual option hedge" several times in 1-2 week lifespans just to learn how (or even whether) it works at all. If it does, I will throw a several hundred into it on the last week before Q3 hits the fan. Right now, Cboe's LiveVol ware is showing a bloody lot of current TSLA puts and calls that I presume are for sale.