Handle leak in CMC MarketMaker

smileypete

Hi,

Would like to know if anyone else is seeing the same problem as I am with CMC MarketMaker 5?

Handles can be monitored in XP Taskmanager by clicking on 'Processes' then 'View/Select Columns.../Handle Count/OK'

What happens is when the main MarketMaker window is not minimised, the handle count keeps increasing, when it gets to about 12,000 it starts to cause problems in XP.

However when the main MarketMaker window is minimised the handle count stops increasing.

I'd like to know if anyone else is seeing this problem before I raise it with CMC.

Thanks in advance,
Pete.

Hi Pete,

I have the latest MarketMaker (MM), also v5 but with specific version info of 20050519153850.

After running this all day, TaskManager shows 943 handles for iiAppStart (I believe that's the main host process for MM).

I've been using MM a lot for about 9 months now and can't say I've ever noticed any XP instability.

What windows do you have open in MM, how much RAM do you have? Maybe your problem depends on these factors?

I have a total of 10 single instrument windows open at the moment and 3 other windows. I have 768MB of RAM on the machine that I run MM on.

Good luck!

Mark

marben said:
Hi Pete,

I have the latest MarketMaker (MM), also v5 but with specific version info of 20050519153850.

After running this all day, TaskManager shows 943 handles for iiAppStart (I believe that's the main host process for MM).

I've been using MM a lot for about 9 months now and can't say I've ever noticed any XP instability.

What windows do you have open in MM, how much RAM do you have? Maybe your problem depends on these factors?

I have a total of 10 single instrument windows open at the moment and 3 other windows. I have 768MB of RAM on the machine that I run MM on.

Good luck!

Mark

Hi Marben,

Thanks for that, looks like the problem is elsewhere then. I've 10 charts open on MarketMaker and 1.25G of RAM which should be plenty.