Getting fills

kerel

I started trading the eMIni S&P using an automated strategy I devised. For starters, I only used one contract. In the last month I see that rarely get any fills, only around 10% of the time.

My questions are:
1. Is this normal?
2. Does it depend on the how long ago the order was placed, i.e. is it First-Come-First-Serve?
3. Isn't trading with only one contract supposed to get real easy fills in a liquid market such as eMiniS&P, as opposed to trading several contracts at once? Or will several contracts get a percentage of them filled before my one contract?

Thanks, kerel.

I am placing limit orders (long or short have the same outcome) and I see that if the market only touches my limit price I don't get the trade and only once the market goes above what I requested do I get my trade filled.

Could someone please explain to me what limit and market orders are? I was told I could swing trade FTSE 100 shares out of market hours by using limit orders, but I dont know what they are.

And also the process of going "short" :eek: I know the definition but cant seem to grasp how this would work in real time... thanks.

A market order will get you an immediate fill, but you will pay up the spread because if you are buying or selling "at the market" then you are hitting the nearest bid or offer in the market depth.

A limit order means you are joining the back of the queu and waiting for a fill at that price. In the emini S&P if you look at your market depth for the price you enter your order at, there will always be hundreds, if not thousands of contracts on offer at the price - before you enter your own order.

Globex (the CME's order matching system, on which the emini S&P trades) works on a fifo matching process - fifo means first in first out, its a queuing system basically, so when you enter your limit order you join the back of the queu and wait for the hundreds or thousands of orders in front of you to trade first before you will get your fill.