gamma scalping bias after daily settlement

etem_tezcan

Hello
I heard that gamma scalping activity takes place after daily settlement prices of financial instruments are announced. I know that gamma scalping is the activity to balance the delta of options to stay delta neutral. Let's say I am long in EURUSD call and EURUSD rallied today. My long call position gained value thus I am selling some EURUSD to neutralize my delta.
I wonder how can one forecast the daily bias for gamma scalping activity.

There are loads of research and nobody has a definitive answer. From what I know the gamma hedge is largely game of experience

gamma scalping is only a headword ... or slogan.. more not. 10 traders 10 different minings to gamma scalping what it should be...

As a former floor trader I can tell you that everyone scalps gamma differently. Some use the options, some use stock, some use STD, some use delta. You never know it is really trader to trader.

One thing traders need to know is what their daily 'nut' is. There is also some interesting data on gamma and the weekly options

Well lets get one thing clear. IF you are gamma hedging, you are trading the underlying, that is a FACT. You can trade options to reduce or increase your gamma exposure but it is not what you call gamma hedging. If you are long calls (or long any options) you are long gamma, and as the market moves up or down you get longer or shorter deltas, and to reduce this delta you would buy or sell the underlying, full stop. The time at which this happens varies from desk to desk, some desks hedge up in the morning, afternoon, intraday. A lot of it depends on what method of calculation they are using for realised vol. If they are using close-close calculations of realised vol, it is likely they will hedge their deltas at the end of each trading day.

underlying doesnt have gamma. gamma of stocks equal zero.

where did you go to school again?