Game theory in arbitrage

I'm not an expert on this, but since artibrage is based mainly on exploiting mispricings, I would say that it's likely that they don't very much. Of course they need an active market of sufficient size and liquidity to make it worth doing.

my idea is this: hedge funds and institutions all have computer programs that kick in as soon as an arbitrage opportunity occurs. With the world "globalizing" the investor "universe" is expanding too. Years ago I am sure inv. banks and institutions probably knew all the players in the market, but now noone knows how many players there are. With the futures market for example, if arbitrage opportunities present themselves no one knows how many people have systems that will kick in to exploit that opportunity. so what if too many entities are following a stock and its respective future and an opportunity presents itself? seems to me that if too many people start shorting something the effect they desired might be overdone and create an arbitrage opportunity the opposite way. how do the players account for the "n" number of players in the game?

... seems to me that if too many people start shorting something the effect they desired might be overdone and create an arbitrage opportunity the opposite way. how do the players account for the "n" number of players in the game?

Apparently they don't based on all the algo funds hitting the skids last summer because they were all in heavily correlated trades that weren't supposed to have been.

adding to my statement above here is my point (and this is a real example I saw a few nights ago while observing a stock and its respective future afterhours):

Note: my biggest assumption is that the futures listed on onechicago do not trade after hours.

to keep things simple let's say stock X closes at $20.03 futures for stock X closes at $20.00