FTSE100 Daily / FTSE100 Daily Future

RedGreenBen

I'm new to trading anything but forex (much easier to visualise... just big virtual piles of virtual cash) and am dipping my toes in the world of indices and more specifically FTSE100 via spread-betting.

What is the difference between trading the FTSE100 Daily and FTSE100 Daily *Future*. I understand what the future is, why is it a different value etc but don't see the relative merits of each (same spreads etc). Any clarification gratefully received.

My second question - which is either stupid or beautifully subtle - is how much of the price of the index is determined by the trade in the index itself and how much by the action in the 100(+2) components?

Thanks in advance (and hopefully not as inadvertently contentious as my last post http://www.trade2win.com/boards/general-trading-chat/29527-zero-sum-games.html :) ).

RGB.

hi, red

the ftse100 index itself cannot be directly traded, unlike the futures which can be.

thus the ftse100 index does not have a "price" and it represents a composite of the price action in its components. the price action of those components is influenced by what is happening to the futures.

sb companies allow you to bet on both, but you are not trading them in the real market - just against the derivative versions created by the sb companies themselves.

cheers

jon

I'm new to trading anything but forex (much easier to visualise... just big virtual piles of virtual cash) and am dipping my toes in the world of indices and more specifically FTSE100 via spread-betting.

What is the difference between trading the FTSE100 Daily and FTSE100 Daily *Future*. I understand what the future is, why is it a different value etc but don't see the relative merits of each (same spreads etc). Any clarification gratefully received.