ftse newbie

JayZ1966

Hi guys,

Sorry if this sounds as daft as i think it may sound but i'm going to put it out there and see if i'm totally wrong with this idea. I'm pretty new to day trading so im expecting criticism or to be shot down....

Ftse100 opens at 4050, Buy with a stop loss of 10 points at £10 per point and also short at £10 per point with the same stop loss. As i see it, which ever way it goes, recently at the start of the day it has been a dramatic rise or fall. If i had done this today i would have lost 10 points on the Buy but gained around 200 points on the Sell. 190 point profit? My idea was as soon as it starts to pick up again, cash in.

I haven't tried this yet as it seems rediculously easy and anything that looks too good to be true, usually is.

Joe

You could backtest this - recommended as it sounds high-risk - but its one of those things that will always look good looking backwards. Using the open for your starting point allows objective backtesting, as does the exit point the close for the remaining position. But how would you objectively determine the closing point for the losing trade?

You could backtest this - recommended as it sounds high-risk - but its one of those things that will always look good looking backwards. Using the open for your starting point allows objective backtesting, as does the exit point the close for the remaining position. But how would you objectively determine the closing point for the losing trade?

I will backtest it further, do you know where i could get historic charts to do this please? I have some time off work coming up so will look much deeper into this.

As for the losing trade, i would only have a 10 point stop loss so that would be my loss on the incorrect trade while if there is a sharp drop / rise as im hoping for, the winning trade will more than make up for it..... i think :confused: we'll see.