Exits on crude

pcrude

Can anyone help with the following? I've been trading FTSE futures and options for several years now, doing fine, and started day trading WTI a few months ago. My question is simply this: is it better in general terms to

a) try to take a few ticks on each trade and not agonise over missing the occasional big move or

b) bring stop to b/e after a reasonable move and let the market play out, thus running the risk of leaving money on the table.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

pcrude

There's been much discussion elsewhere here in the last week or so.

Personally, I take my target profit and get out to re-position in the same instrument or elsewhere. The reasoning behind this is that you should always hope for a target derived from TA, just the same as TA gives you an entry (and, hopefully, a stop). So if you go long at 5000 with a target of 5250 and a stop at 4900, it will be (I assume) because your TA suggests there is a strong probability of reaching 5250, so there must be a decreasing probability of reaching 5300, 5350 etc. You can't make the market alter its physics just so you can take some more profit. As probability of further rise decreases, risk is increasing, so now you're taking more risk to get less reward - is that rational?

There's been much discussion elsewhere here in the last week or so.