easy going forex system.......need help backtesting

JASONHANDA

Hi all

Hope you are having plenty of success in your trading.

I am a newbie to trading and would like to share my system with you and hopefully get lots of feedback. Basically I tested this on paper using Metatrader as I am not proficient enough to code Metatrader to back test automatically, so if anyone can help with that I would greatly appreciate it.

The system is very simple, which I think for a newbie is a good option. There are a few issues with the system such as drawdown and timescale as you will see, but having said that the profits can be quite good and you do not have to sit at the PC all day long.

The system is basically using 4 hour charts with 10ema and 40ema crossover with Parabolic SAR (0.02, 0.2).

1) Wait for fast MA to cross slow MA
2) Wait for PSAR to touch or crossover the slowMA from below for a buy or above for a sell (hope thats clear)
3) If the fast MA is less than 100pips (still experimenting with this) away from the slow MA you have a trade signal

(see attached image)

I use a stop loss of between 50 and 100 depending on the volatility of the currency pair. I start moving my trailing stop up as the profit goes over a 100. But like any kind of trading I use my own judgement too. The nice thing is you do not need to watch the trades all day long. You can just put them in and leave them if you like, using a stop loss of 50 and a take profit of 100-150 and check every 4 hours if there are any new trades.

Manual backtesting has produced the following results (from January 2004 up to and including July 2004). Unfortunately due to personal circumstances I was unable to continue testing and would ideally like to complete the study using Metatrader. Also as this was manual backtesting there maybe some errors:

GBPUSD
======
4 trades
4 winners
0 losers

Total pips: 1416

AUDUSD
======
7 traders
5 winners
2 losers

Total pips: 852

EURUSD
======
8 trades
6 winners
2 losers