Do you hedge?

davidc123

Hi,

I'm just getting into spot forex trading, and I'm just wondering how people manage a trades exposure to fx rates between account ccy and the trade's ccy?

i.e my account is gbp but I want to trade USD.CAD. To open the pos, my GBP gets traded into USD, which gets traded into CAD. USD.CAD goes in my favour, so I close the position, but now I have to convert the USD back into GBP.

So when entering a trade, is it normal practice to hedge the exposure to the GBP.USD rate?

Thanks.

Let me correct something. When you do your USD/CAD trade you don't convert GBP into USD. You just execute the trade wherein you effectively borrow CAD (assuming you're going long), convert to USD, and invest the USD proceeds. The profits or losses will be converted into your account currency, nothing else. As such, you probably can't really hedge yourself because it's a moving target. You won't know until the position is closed how much of an exposure you've got.

Thanks Rhody Trader. Who do you trade with? I'm trading through IB and they definitely work by doing an fx trade to get some cash in the base ccy of trade, then performing the trade. Same goes for stocks - I trade any USD stocks, then my GBP cash gets traded into USD first before buying the stock. So when I close the trade I'm always left with cash in the base ccy of the trade, which I convert back to gbp.

If there are others who have a better system I'd be very happy to switch.

IB definitely does things differently than your garden variety retail broker. I traded with them for a while, but found the forex handling extremely annoying. I can understand the stock trade conversion as you are actually buying and selling a dollar denominated asset, and thus need the dollars.

To the OP: