Daily vs Weekly Trend

DavidKl

Hi Everyone. I hope you guys are ok. I got a very quick question, actually I am looking for a suggestion on how to properly find the trend? And what I mean by trend, is the difference between the monthly and daily trend. Sometimes I struggle with an idea of trending with the higher time frame trend. Now let me tell you what I mean.

Scenario 1: I'm a swing trader and I usually look at the daily and weekly charts. Weekly charts to find the main trend and I use a daily chart to trend in that direction. What I am struggling with sometimes is to find the right trend. When I look at the Weekly chart there is an uptrend, however for a longer period of time on a daily chart there is a downtrend and then the question pops out in my head ,is the downtrend on the daily chart only a retracement on a weekly chart (uptrend)? or is that a new downtrend entirely???

I would like to find out what sort of criteria do you guys usually use to distinguish if the downtrend is only a retracement on a higher time frame? or the other way around? do you take fibonnaci ratios? trend lines? CCI indicator?

It would be great to hear from you guys.

Thank You

David

Last edited:
Hi Everyone. I hope you guys are ok. I got a very quick question, actually I am looking for a suggestion on how to properly find the trend? And what I mean by trend, is the difference between the monthly and daily trend. Sometimes I struggle with an idea of trending with the higher time frame trend. Now let me tell you what I mean.