Cost Of Living!!!!

jamesgerrard

Thanks for reading this,

I am a prop trader in the Schatz. Recently started (2 lots at mo). My biggest constraint is supporting my living costs whilst trading. I believe it is realistic to not count on having any money to take out for 6 months to a year. Hopefully I can turn a plus P&L before this but I am realistic from knowing other prop traders.

My question is how have people got around this, savings, living of partner………I don’t have enough savings to last a year and the last thing I want is my personnel financial situation to impact my trading psychology. Has anybody got any clever ideas on how to fund yourself during this period, I cant imagine any banks are going to loan to a Prop trade!

I love trading and feel through time and a lot of hard work I will turn a profitable P&L the thought of my personnel constraints stopping me is a real sickener.

Any ideas welcome

Thanks guys
James

You're thinking to trade for a living but you have yet to even develop a profitable trading strategy?

Hi John,

I do have a number of strategies, but I know that putting them into practise and turning them into a profit even if you have back tested etc is very different, paper trading and back testing does not automatically produce profitable trading, I was a trader (not prop in a previous life).

My question was around funding, to gain ideas and learn from others exp in how they managed the (usually extensive) period where you turn a P&L that is profitbale and you can live off. How did they survive it, does everyone have huge savings, I dont know.