Can someone please explain the difference between Spread betting, CFD's & futures etc

nkingy2003

Can someone please explain the difference between Spread betting, CFD's & futures etc

I am a newbie to trading as you can probably tell by my question and I'm only familiar with spread betting and currently use IG Index to trade. I want to start using a few strategies which will be mid term strategies, weeks to months. If I spread bet then I will incur either carry fees if I trade using a daily contract or a wide spread if I trade using a monthly or quarterly contract. I realise the spread isn't that wide for these monthly and quarterly contracts but I was wondering if there is a more cost effectively way of mid term trading?

I was also hoping you could explain in brief what the other forms of trading and what the spreads or fees are like with them. Is spread betting the only one which isn't taxable?

I understand most people trade futures on here and have been told that spread betting is an amateurs game but I dont know how true that is. What do you guys trade?

Re: Can someone please explain the difference between Spread betting, CFD's & futures

Hello.

Spreadbetting has lots of supporters and detractors. Personally I think you'll be absolutely fine for longer-term trading. Most agree it's not much use for scalping.

Tax free is a contentious issue, although you should be fine if you have other income (this argument is another one that has been round a thousand times).

There are differences, although for example FXCM claim that when you spreadbet with them you are effectively trading direct as they match your trade in the market. Their spreadbetting platform is just their normal one with an SB wrapper according to them.

I like IG, others think they're sperm of the devil. You'll haver to work out what suits you best, but the daily charges shouldn't be that significant unless you're holding for a long time.

This explains each type pretty well: