Buy high / Sell higher

robocod

Hi folks,

(I'm a new trader, just trying to learn the ropes. Still paper trading at the moment.)

So, I understand the maxim "Buy low / sell high": make an entry on a reversal or trough and sell on a peak or as the momentum starts to dwindle.

But often times, I might not be able to enter the market at that low low price. Perhaps I just didn't spot it, or it seemed too volatile at the time or something. The point is, for whatever reason I missed the low, but the price of the stock/index/whatever is now nicely trending upwards. What should you do? Just watch it? Make an entry and hope it continues to go up?

There's another maxim "Buy high / sell higher". Sounds fine in theory, but of course we can't always tell how much higher it will go can we.

So far I've been avoiding these scenarios, and I just watch the price go up and up, and wondering whether I should jump on; and of course you can be sure the moment I do, it will turn! What a quandary.

Any guidance? Either what to do in terms of making the trade, or in terms of psychology. Thanks.

Trade Futures! That is some good advice lol. Open 24 hours a day :)

You can trade breakout's which I do often. Buy high, sell even higher. They do work. Trying to pick bottoms is useless. You really only get lucky if you buy a dead low or sell a dead high.

You can trade breakout's which I do often. Buy high, sell even higher. They do work. Trying to pick bottoms is useless. You really only get lucky if you buy a dead low or sell a dead high.

I'm not talking about getting in on a yearly-low or something, I didn't mean that.

Take your example of a breakout (or a reversal). If I see this trade developing, I can get a feel for it, where it is going, where to place my stop, what a reasonable target price would be. I feel comfortable with this (following my risk management strategy).