Brandon Fredrickson Journal

Brandonf

Its unlikely that I will ever be the best fundamental analyst in the world. I have a hard enough time if my ATM balance is different than my checking balance, so getting too far beyond that and I am in a grey area. However, as a trader I do think its important to have some understanding of the fundamentals of a company you are looking for. Technical analysis is great, and it is by far the strongest point of my own trading, but if that is all your looking at you are not getting nearly as much of the picture as you could be or should be.

This is just going to be a very basic piece on how to approach fundamental analysis, in terms of learning how to do some basic work on your own, what to look for and growing as a trader and analysis from that. Everyone has people who help them in life, and in terms of fundamental analysis I have to thank my business partner Anthony. My early approach was fairly simple, I would look at the EPS, make sure it was growing and dance the happy dance if the ESP “looked good” and so did my fundamental analysis. As crude as that sounds, its still more than most technicians do, and I do think that has a negative result on the results they could have if they are a longer term trader, say beyond a week or two.